Congrats ASM Residents!

Jun 01, 2010

Congratulations to the UTMB residents for winning 2010 RAM Bowl Championship (Sponsored by the American Society of Aerospace Medicine Specialists) at the May national meeting. The team this year also included residents in the MPH program from the U.S. Air Force and Army/Navy program. Those on the UTMB team were Greg Shaskan, Ronak Shah, Dan Murray, Kathleen Samsey, and Chuck Mathers. The other UTMB and military MPH residents helped prepare the team during practice. To win the championship, the UTMB team had to top five other teams from the Air Force, Army/Navy, and Wright State. This year's event was conducted in front of a standing room only, energetic, cheering, and jeering crowd and was part of the official Aerospace Medicine Association scientific CME program. The purpose of the RAM bowl is education, competency development, friendly competion between programs, and entertainment. It is very gratifying that UTMB residents have won for 3 years in a row.


In addition to the RAM Bowl Championship, Chuck Mathers won second runner-up for outstanding young investigator for his presentation "Measurement of Head Acceleration and Angular Rate in Rough Stock Riders: A model for examining non-impact related head injuries in extreme environments." This was quite an accomplishment since there were 92 papers competing for this award.

Leigh Lewis also gave an excellent presentation titled "Measurement of Head Acceleration and Angular Rate Experienced by Aerobatic Pilots." This presentation was done before a very large audience and was well received.

Greg Shaskan and Ronak Shah each presented cases at Aerospace Medicine Grand Rounds. Ronak presented on vertebrobasilar insufficency due to cervical disc disease, and Greg presented on musculoskeletal injury in an astronaut during EVA training. Grand Rounds is one of the largest sessions at the annual meeting and is always a highlight of the assembly.

Chuck Mathers won the Society of NASA Flight Surgeons "Space Medicine Recognition Award" which included a $250 cash award. Congrats to Chuck for this honor.

Congratulations also to Dr. Kal Purohit for winning the Jeffrey R. Davis Endowed Scholarship for 2010 to help with travel costs to the Aerospace Medicine Association conference.

Congratulations to the 20th Annual Forum on Aging Poster Session winners!!

Student Poster Award Winners
Neuroscience – Kara Barber & Claudia Marino
Basic Science – Danelo Cortez
Rehabilitation – Kay Kulkarni
Health Disparities – Jaqueline Contrera Avila & Mary Margaret King
Medical Effectiveness – Keli Perino
Clinical Trials & Implementation – Leyla Akhverdiyeva

Congratulations to the 20th Annual Forum on Aging Poster Session winners!!





To view all the photos from the event, click here:

Congratulations Naiomi Jamal!!

Jamal, Naiomi

Please join me in congratulating Naiomi Jamal on her 2016 President's Cabinet Award! She received this for her program focused on Parent Based Teen Pregnancy Prevention. This is a very prestigious award - Congratulations Naiomi!

Congratulations LJ Panas on your new job at Kansas Health Institute!!


Lawrence John Panas, Ph.D., Senior Analyst, joined KHI in 2016 after earning a doctorate degree in population health sciences and a master's degree in public Health from UTMB. His work at UTMB focused on community health improvement and also on public health systems and services. Prior to joining KHI, he was a graduate/research assistant at the UTMB. During that time, Lawrence was also involved in a wide range of work related to issues such as aging, disability, mortality, minority health and health disparities.

Congratulations to Zakkoyya Lewis on your new job at Beachbody, LLC.


Zakkoyya (Koyya) Lewis accepted a position at Beachbody, LLC as their Fitness Research Manager in their Fitness and Nutrition Results department. This position is the first of its kind. As the Fitness Research Manager, Koyya is responsible for standardizing the measurement protocols for test groups on new products sponsored by Beachbody. She is responsible for the collection and evaluation of all test group data. It is also her responsibility to ensure that claims on new fitness programs meet scientific standards. In addition to running test groups, Koyya works directly with UTMB alum Erin Glynn, PhD and Research & Development as well as Digital Productions. She works as a liaison between departments to identify ways to improve programs and motivate customers.  

Congratulations Dr. Arcari and Dr. Rudkin!! 

Christine M. Arcari, PhD, MPH

Rudkin, Laura

Please join me in congratulating SOM Year 2 student Lynda Chowdhury and Drs. Arcari and Rudkin on their 2016 President's Cabinet Award! They received this for their application titled Health Fair Kits To Go: Turning Service into Service Learning. This is another very prestigious award for our department - Congratulations Lynda, Dr. Arcari, and Dr. Rudkin!

Please join us in wishing Joseph Saenz, PhD a farewell as he embarks on a new adventure.


 Joseph Saenz Farwell Party_USC

 Joseph Saenz obtained his PhD and is going to be a Post-Doctoral Fellow at the University of Southern California, Davis School of Gerontology, working with Dr. Eileen Crimmins and colleagues.

During his PhD stay at UTMB Department of Preventive Medicine and Community Health, and SCOA, he published several papers on aging among U.S. Hispanics and Mexicans. He consistently made presentations in local, national, and international professional meetings and conferences, winning several honors and awards.

At SCOA, he also coordinated the MHAS research work group.

We will miss him for his great scholarship, extraordinary citizenship, and personal disposition!

UTMB ~ The University of Texas Medical Branch
Site Managed by the Department of Preventive Medicine & Community Health

© 2013 The University of Texas Medical Branch. Please review our site policies and required links.The Department of Preventive Medicine & Community Health, 301 University Boulevard, Galveston, Texas 77555-1150. Phone 409.772.1128. Fax 409.772.5272
Member, Texas Medical Center®