Dr. Laura Rudkin to bear Mace at GSBS Commencement

Apr 27, 2011

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences is has announced that Dr. Laura Rudkin, Associate Professor in Preventive Medicine and Community Health (PMCH), will be the Mace Bearer for the GSBS Commencement on Friday, May 6, in Levin Hall.

Dr. Rudkin, a faculty member since 1993, is Vice Chair for Education, Distinguished Teaching Professor, and Graduate Program Director. She has been graduate program director for the three GSBS programs administered by PMCH since 2007: Population Health Sciences, Public Health and Clinical Sciences. A fourth program, Rehabilitation Sciences, is under review and expected to be approved soon. In her current role, Dr. Rudkin oversees ten curricular tracks, with 73 faculty and 51 students, and from which 17 students graduated in 2009-10.

In 2008, she was elected to the UTMB Academy of Master Teachers, followed by an appointment as a Distinguished Teaching Professor by the UT System. The Graduate Student Organization (GSO) honored Dr. Rudkin in 2009 with the GSO Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award for advocacy on behalf of her students. She also is a current member of the Synergy Steering Committee and the Faculty Development Team of the Academy of Master Teachers.

Dr. Rudkin received her BA in journalism with High Distinction (1982) and MA in sociology (1985) from the University of Iowa, and earned a PhD in sociology and demography from Princeton University in 1992. She was a National Institute on Aging postdoctoral fellow at the Carolina Population Center, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, before coming to UTMB in 1993.

Congratulations to the 20th Annual Forum on Aging Poster Session winners!!

Student Poster Award Winners
Neuroscience – Kara Barber & Claudia Marino
Basic Science – Danelo Cortez
Rehabilitation – Kay Kulkarni
Health Disparities – Jaqueline Contrera Avila & Mary Margaret King
Medical Effectiveness – Keli Perino
Clinical Trials & Implementation – Leyla Akhverdiyeva

Congratulations to the 20th Annual Forum on Aging Poster Session winners!!





To view all the photos from the event, click here: http://scoa.dphoto.com/#/album/7c9ecw

Congratulations Naiomi Jamal!!

Jamal, Naiomi

Please join me in congratulating Naiomi Jamal on her 2016 President's Cabinet Award! She received this for her program focused on Parent Based Teen Pregnancy Prevention. This is a very prestigious award - Congratulations Naiomi!

Congratulations LJ Panas on your new job at Kansas Health Institute!!


Lawrence John Panas, Ph.D., Senior Analyst, joined KHI in 2016 after earning a doctorate degree in population health sciences and a master's degree in public Health from UTMB. His work at UTMB focused on community health improvement and also on public health systems and services. Prior to joining KHI, he was a graduate/research assistant at the UTMB. During that time, Lawrence was also involved in a wide range of work related to issues such as aging, disability, mortality, minority health and health disparities.

Congratulations to Zakkoyya Lewis on your new job at Beachbody, LLC.


Zakkoyya (Koyya) Lewis accepted a position at Beachbody, LLC as their Fitness Research Manager in their Fitness and Nutrition Results department. This position is the first of its kind. As the Fitness Research Manager, Koyya is responsible for standardizing the measurement protocols for test groups on new products sponsored by Beachbody. She is responsible for the collection and evaluation of all test group data. It is also her responsibility to ensure that claims on new fitness programs meet scientific standards. In addition to running test groups, Koyya works directly with UTMB alum Erin Glynn, PhD and Research & Development as well as Digital Productions. She works as a liaison between departments to identify ways to improve programs and motivate customers.  

Congratulations Dr. Arcari and Dr. Rudkin!! 

Christine M. Arcari, PhD, MPH

Rudkin, Laura

Please join me in congratulating SOM Year 2 student Lynda Chowdhury and Drs. Arcari and Rudkin on their 2016 President's Cabinet Award! They received this for their application titled Health Fair Kits To Go: Turning Service into Service Learning. This is another very prestigious award for our department - Congratulations Lynda, Dr. Arcari, and Dr. Rudkin!

Please join us in wishing Joseph Saenz, PhD a farewell as he embarks on a new adventure.


 Joseph Saenz Farwell Party_USC

 Joseph Saenz obtained his PhD and is going to be a Post-Doctoral Fellow at the University of Southern California, Davis School of Gerontology, working with Dr. Eileen Crimmins and colleagues.

During his PhD stay at UTMB Department of Preventive Medicine and Community Health, and SCOA, he published several papers on aging among U.S. Hispanics and Mexicans. He consistently made presentations in local, national, and international professional meetings and conferences, winning several honors and awards.

At SCOA, he also coordinated the MHAS research work group.

We will miss him for his great scholarship, extraordinary citizenship, and personal disposition!

UTMB ~ The University of Texas Medical Branch
Site Managed by the Department of Preventive Medicine & Community Health

© 2013 The University of Texas Medical Branch. Please review our site policies and required links.The Department of Preventive Medicine & Community Health, 301 University Boulevard, Galveston, Texas 77555-1150. Phone 409.772.1128. Fax 409.772.5272
Member, Texas Medical Center®